Laurence Olivier și Vivien Leigh:

Leigh and Olivier

But one day early in spring I heard a maid complaining. I think we must just have finished lunch; I know we were sitting at the table in the small winter-garden of a porch at Durham Cottage and that it was daylight. It came like a bolt from the blue, like a drop of water, I almost thought my ears had deceived me: “I don’t love you anymore.”

I must have looked as stricken as I felt, for she went on, “There’s no one else or anything like that, I mean I still love you but in a different way, sort of, well, like a brother.”; she actually used those words. I felt as if I had been told that I had been condemned to death… Some while later a close friend said that I should have kicked her out, or upped and outed myself; that I should never have endured in silence such humiliation apparently for the sake of appearances. The fact was I couldn’t move; it would be some time before I could entirely take in, grasp it, or wholly believe it. My recent knighthood, bestowed just before I set out for Australia, was sacred to me too; I just could not bring myself to offer people such crude disillusionment. I could only keep it bottled up in myself and, as Vivien had suggested, carry on as if nothing had happened.Laurence Olivier

Chestia asta m-a terminat, pur și simplu. Nu știu de ce; dar, bănuiesc.

Articolul următor
Lasă un comentariu

2 comentarii

  1. ” I could only keep it bottled up in myself and, as Vivien had suggested, carry on as if nothing had happened”

    and
    all the same
    she was only
    when,,,,

    Răspunde

Lasă un răspuns

